2022/23 UEFA Champions League draw: See the Teams in each pot

2022/23 UEFA Champions League draw: See the Teams in each pot

UEFA Champions League draw Teams pot
The draw for the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League group stage is upon us as the August 25 date is near, with 32 teams drawn into eight groups of four.

And the pots for this year’s Champions League draw have been defined in the absence of the last three qualifiers of the playoff round of the competition.

Ahead of Thursday’s draw scheduled to hold in Istanbul, Turkey, here is how teams have been seeded.
Teams in each Champions League pot
Pot 1

Since UEFA changed the criteria for seeding, champions of the highest-ranked European leagues are guaranteed to be in the main pot.

Therefore, the Champions League winners and La Liga Real Madrid will be accompanied in pot 1 by Eintracht Frankfurt, the champions of the Europa League.

Premier League champions Manchester City, Serie A champions AC Milan, winners of the Bundesliga Bayern, Ligue 1 champions Paris Saint-Germain, Primeira Liga champions Porto and Eredivisie champions Ajax, are the other teams that make up this pot.
Pot 2

Pots 2, 3 and 4 contain the remaining teams, seeded based on their 2022 UEFA club coefficients.

In pot 2 includes, Liverpool, Chelsea, Barcelona, Juventus, Atletico Madrid, Sevilla, RB Leipzig and Tottenham Hotspur.

Either of these teams will meet the teams in pots 1, 3 and 4, but two teams from the same league, will not be drawn into the same group.
Pot 3

This pot will see Italian teams Inter Milan and Napoli and German side Borussia Dortmund give substance to some groups if paired with equally tough opponents from other pots.

RB Salzburg, Shakhtar Donetsk, Benfica, Sporting Lisbon and Bayer Leverkusen are the other teams that make up pot 3.
Pot 4

The fourth – and yet to-be-concluded pot – will have the weakest teams, although it contains some tough teams like Marseille. The French side finished second in Ligue 1 last season...TAP.TO.READ MORE.

Others in pot 4 include Club Brugge, Celtic, Viktoria Plzen, Maccabi Haifa and the three winners of the playoff rounds: Dinamo Zagreb-Bodo Glimt, PSV-Rangers and Trabzonspor-Copenhagen, yet to be decided.

Leave a Comment